Boris Papandopulo
Boris Papandopulo

10×1 – Ten Musical Impressions, each lasting One Minute for Piano Solo

Publisher: Croatian Music Information Centre
Publish year: 2008

Price: 11,95 

In stock

printed edition
Catalogue type:
music for solo instruments
Number of pages:
Book height:
32 cm
Publication language:
croatian, english
About the music edition:
Boris Papandopulo (1906 – 1991) is one of the most distinctive Croatian musicians of the 20th century. Papandopulo also worked as music writer, journalist, reviewer, pianist and piano accompanist; however, he achieved the peaks of his career in music as a composer. His composing oeuvre is imposing – Papandopulo composed almost 500 opuses: with great success he created instrumental (orchestral, concertante, chamber and solo), vocal and instrumental (for solo voice and choir), music-stage and film music. In all these kinds and genres he left a string of anthology-piece compositions of great artistic value. 10 x 1 Ten Musical Impressions Each Lasting One Minute for Solo Piano is the last piano composition of Papandopulo, created in Tribunj from February 16 to March 10, 1989 and first performed by Dalibor Cikojević on August 4, 2004, at the Osor Musical Evenings. This is »an impressive, kaleidoscopically-created synthesis of all the composer’s styles and techniques, which with its spontaneity gives an excellent picture of the composer’s personality and his eternally playful and lively spirit, full of an eternal optimism and humour« (Dalibor Cikojević). This is a very distinctive and seemingly free collage that is nevertheless informed by a secret idea about everything being subordinated to the integrity of the suite as a whole.