Ruben Radica
Ruben Radica

Four Persistency Studies for Saxophone Quartet

Publisher: Croatian Music Information Centre
Publish year: 2001

Edition type: score, parts

Price: 12,61 

In stock

printed edition
Catalogue type:
chamber music
Catalogue subtype:
non-standard ensemble
saxophone quartet
Number of pages:
Book height:
29 cm
Publication language:
croatian, english
About the music edition:
Radica, Ruben (1931) acquired a basic knowledge of music from his grandfather, the composer Josip Hatze. At the Zagreb Academy he graduated from the conducting class of Zlatić and from the composition class of Kelemen. In addition he attended classes given by Frazzi, Leibowitz, Messiaen, Ligeti, Boulez, and Pousseur at Siena, Paris, and Darmstadt variously. After teaching at the Sarajevo Music Academy Radica joined the staff at the Zagreb Academy as a lecturer in music theory. After tending initially towards neo-classicism, Radica became influenced by Leibowitz’s interpretation of the works of Schoenberg and Webern. His organization of musical material is aimed at communicating ideas which can also be described verbally but without recourse to programmaticism... In the composition Four studies of persistence (2000) for saxophone quartet there is no a priori formal diagram in which the composer sets forth his musical ideas. These propositions indicate a very complex, much considered, witty and inventive composerly procedure on the part of Ruben Radica, which is manifested in all four movements of this work.