Dora Pejačević
Dora Pejačević

Quartet for Piano, Violin, Viola and Violoncello, Op. 25

Publisher: Croatian Music Information Centre
Publish year: 2009

Edition type: score, parts

Price: 33,18 

In stock

printed edition
Catalogue type:
chamber music
Number of pages:
Book height:
32 cm
Publication language:
croatian, english, german
About the music edition:
Dora Pejačević (1885 – 1923) is one of the most talentet female composers at the turn of the 18th and 19th centuries. She studied at the Croatian Music Institute in Zagreb then briefly in Dresden with Sherwood and in Munich with Courvoisier. For the most part, however, she was self-taught and developed her musical talents through contact with other artists and intellectuals, such as Karl Kraus. Her ancestral home was at Našice (near Osijek), but she also travelled extensively to Budapest, Munich, Prague and Vienna. After 1921 she lived mainly in Munich. Her works were performed most frequently outside Croatia; part of her Symphony, for example, was first given in Vienna (25 January 1918) and the complete work was performed later in Dresden. Her late Romantic idiom, enriched with Impressionist harmonies and lush orchestral colours, evolved as she strove to break free from drawing-room mannerisms and conventions... The Quartet for Piano, Violin, Viola and Cello in D Minor Op. 25 (1908) is the first fully professional and larger chamber composition by Dora Pejačević, written in the tradition of classic forms and the composer’s romantic models.