Franjo Krežma
Franjo Krežma

Rêverie for Violin and Orchestra

Publisher: Croatian Music Information Centre
Publish year: 2010

Edition type: score

Price: 11,95 

In stock

printed edition
Catalogue type:
music for solo instrument and orchestra
violin, symphony orchestra
vn. solo – 2 ob. 2 cl. 2 fg. – 2 cor. in Mi♭ – archi
Number of pages:
Book height:
32 cm
Publication language:
croatian, english
About the music edition:
„Rêverie for violin and large orchestra in A flat major (1880) also known under the title of Noćni čar (Nocturnal Enchantment), is among his mature works, and was composed in Berlin on February 28, 1880. In October that same year he performed it to the accompaniment of the Bilse Orchestra. This one-movement composition with its programme music title is actually a little symphonic poem in which the composer’s Romantic sensibility comes to the fore, without any insistence on allusions to Slavonic themes. Tripartite in conception and melancholic in tempo, the work manifests atmospheric melodiousness and some occasional dialogue work between soloist and ensemble. The central part standards out for its drama, and then for the combination of the edgy rhythmic pulsation of the wind instruments and short chromatically charged phrases of the soloist. The passage part, transparently orchestrated, leads to renewed calm and poetic dialogues between violin solo and the wind sections, all the way until it fades away.“ (Vjera Katalinić)