Ivan Lukačić
Ivan Lukačić

Sacrae Cantiones Singulis Binis Ternis Quaternis Quinisque vocibus Concinendae

Publisher: Croatian Music Information Centre
Publish year: 1998

Edition type: facsimile edition

Price: 12,61 

In stock

printed edition
Catalogue type:
choral music
Catalogue subtype:
vocal ensemble
Number of pages:
Book height:
21,5 cm
Publication language:
croatian, english
About the music edition:
Ivan Lukačić (1587 – 1648) Croatian composer. He entered the Franciscan order at the age of ten, studied theology and music in Italy and was awarded the degree of Magister Musices in Rome in 1615. He returned to Šibenik in 1618 but soon went to Split, where he became prior of the Franciscan monastery in 1620. This duty he combined for the rest of his life with that of director of music at Split Cathedral. At the time he returned to Dalmatia from Italy the new monodic style was strongly represented there by Tomaso Cecchino and Marcantonio Romano and in Istria by Gabriello Puliti. Lukačić's only contribution to the already substantial Dalmatian repertory was a collection of Sacrae cantiones (Venice, 1629), 27 motets for one to five voices with organ continuo. Giacomo Finetti was largely responsible for their publication, and it is possible that Lukačić had been his pupil. The motets are the works of an accomplished and sensitive musician. Those for four and five voices are based on the alternation of solo and tutti passages; those for one, two and three voices use the elements of the monodic style with a remarkable feeling for dramatic presentation. The collection Sacrae cantiones is one of the most significant monuments of old Croatian music altogether.

There is no sheet image for this product.