Dora Pejačević
Dora Pejačević

Slavic Sonata for Violin and Piano, Op. 43

Publisher: Croatian Music Information Centre
Publish year: 2007

Edition type: score, parts

Price: 14,60 

In stock

printed edition
Catalogue type:
chamber music
violin, piano
Number of pages:
Book height:
32 cm
Publication language:
croatian, english, german
About the music edition:
Dora Pejačević (1885 – 1923) is one of the most talentet female composers at the turn of the 18th and 19th centuries. She studied at the Croatian Music Institute in Zagreb then briefly in Dresden with Sherwood and in Munich with Courvoisier. For the most part, however, she was self-taught and developed her musical talents through contact with other artists and intellectuals, such as Karl Kraus. Her ancestral home was at Našice (near Osijek), but she also travelled extensively to Budapest, Munich, Prague and Vienna. After 1921 she lived mainly in Munich. Her works were performed most frequently outside Croatia; part of her Symphony, for example, was first given in Vienna (25 January 1918) and the complete work was performed later in Dresden. Her late Romantic idiom, enriched with Impressionist harmonies and lush orchestral colours, evolved as she strove to break free from drawing-room mannerisms and conventions... The Sonata for Violin and Piano in B Flat Minor, Op. 43, Slavic, written in 1917, is one of the first works in Croatian music which unquestionably commits itself to the “national style”. There is an obvious attempt at integration of folklorisms (augmented seconds, a double pedal tone in the fifth, simple dance melodies) in a personal musical language. Folk music elements appear in a stylised form, with no attempt at folkloristic regionality. The scintillation of grotesqueness and humour in the final movement forms a pleasing balance here to the dramatic first movement and the lyrical central movement of the sonata.