Luka Sorkočević
Luka Sorkočević

Symphony No. 8 in G Major

Publisher: Croatian Music Information Centre
Publish year: 1992

Edition type: score

Price: 9,29 

In stock

printed edition (red. Zoran Juranić)
Catalogue type:
orchestral music
Catalogue subtype:
symphony orchestra
2 ob. – 2 cor. – archi
Number of pages:
Book height:
20 cm
Publication language:
croatian, english, german
About the music edition:
Luka Sorkočević (1734 – 1789) became in 1752 a member of the Great Council, and he negotiated with France on behalf of the Republic in 1776 and with Joseph II in 1781–2. He studied music with G.A. Valente in Dubrovnik and then for some time around 1757 with Rinaldo di Capua in Rome; his entire compositional activity falls between the years 1754 and 1770. He was acquainted with Metastasio, Haydn and Gluck. His symphonies, written for the orchestra he maintained in his household, are in three movements, conceived in the standard Italian idiom of the time.