Ivo Maček
Ivo Maček

Trio for Violin, Violoncello and Piano, “Romantic”

Publisher: Croatian Music Information Centre
Publish year: 2015

Edition type: score, violin part, violoncello part

Price: 26,54 

In stock

printed edition
Catalogue type:
chamber music
violin, violoncello, piano
Number of pages:
Book height:
32 cm
Publication language:
croatian, english
About the music edition:
Croatian pianist, composer, and piano teacher Ivo Maček (1914 – 2002) graduated from Zagreb Music Academy, where he studied piano with Vjekoslav Rosenberg-Ružić and composition with Franjo Dugan. Maček continued his studies with the renowned Croatian pianist and piano pedagogue Svetislav Stančić, and became one of his most prominent students. From 1939 he studied composition with Jean Roger-Ducasse in Paris. His oeuvre comprises sixteen compositions, two for choirs, six for piano, seven for various chamber ensembles, and one composition for piano and chamber orchestra. The Trio for Violin, Violoncello and Pianoforte in B minor is the first chamber composition of Ivo Maček. It is subtitled “romantic”, which might be considered the composer’s admission of his own stylistic orientation. And indeed, this composition is a kind of amalgam of romantic composing and technical procedures. It is conceived as a long movement, which in its basic contours retains the classical sonata form. Composing for the standard ensemble founded in the classical period by Haydn and Mozart, Maček achieved equality of parts suffused with a marked expressivity. With all three instruments, he creates a mood and a special atmosphere, characterising them with refined sensitivity, a Romantic sensibility that creates the grounds for the understanding of the musical events in the framework of Maček’s musical immanence.