Dora Pejačević
Dora Pejačević

Trio for Violin, Violoncello and Piano in D Major, Op. 15

Publisher: Croatian Music Information Centre
Publish year: 2018

Edition type: score, violin part, violoncello part

Price: 26,54 

In stock

printed edition
Catalogue type:
chamber music
violin, violoncello, piano
Number of pages:
Book height:
32 cm
Publication language:
croatian, english, german
About the music edition:
Dora Pejačević (1885 – 1923) is one of the most talentet female composers at the turn of the 18th and 19th centuries. She studied at the Croatian Music Institute in Zagreb then briefly in Dresden with Sherwood and in Munich with Courvoisier. For the most part, however, she was self-taught and developed her musical talents through contact with other artists and intellectuals, such as Karl Kraus. Her ancestral home was at Našice (near Osijek), but she also travelled extensively to Budapest, Munich, Prague and Vienna. After 1921 she lived mainly in Munich. Her works were performed most frequently outside Croatia; part of her Symphony, for example, was first given in Vienna (25 January 1918) and the complete work was performed later in Dresden. Her late Romantic idiom, enriched with Impressionist harmonies and lush orchestral colours, evolved as she strove to break free from drawing-room mannerisms and conventions... Doras first attempt at mastering the classical chamber form was her Piano Trio Op. 15 (1902), which she wrote when she was seventeen, still at the stage of examining the possibilities of the chamber idiom, along the lines of her Romantic models, Dvořák, Schubert, and Tchaikovsky. Written in a simple texture and attractive style, the trio comprises four movements in which dance rhythms and a dance atmosphere often emerge. This cycle made up of four miniatures for a chamber ensemble contains indications of some features which were to be typical to Dora Pejačević’s mature musical expression: an aspiration towards dramatic tensions and thematic coherence